Why I Need Vacation Motivation

Today is the first day of a nine day vacation. It is the last vacation of this magnitude that I will have until Thanksgiving. Thank goodness the school calendar changed from a long weekend to a full week for Thanksgiving otherwise, this would be the only long vacation until Christmas!

During the last vacation, Blake and I traveled to see his family, which was great, but I am so excited about being at home this time. The only difference is, regardless of whether I want to stay physically busy during the next full week or not, I have to stay mentally busy or at least trick my mind into thinking that I’m going to be busy. Believe me, there is a whole list of things that I plan to accomplish between now and Sunday, August 6th but it’s nothing that requires me to set an alarm or keep a regular schedule.

I don’t know if this happens to just me, because I’m a little weird, or if anyone else can relate, but whenever my mind knows that I’m about to be able to relax a little, my immune system takes an immediate vacation of it’s own. I cannot tell you how many times I’ve been approaching a period of rest and relaxation and I can’t even enjoy half of it because I get sick. It could be anything from a small cold to the full-blown flu.

So, I am NOT going to let that happen to me this week! I started to feel a little bit of a sore throat on Thursday and I said, “No way, Jose!” I am going to enjoy this week with a little rest and a lot of productivity and if I have to play motivational mind games on myself to be successful, then so be it!

I’ve also decided to try my hand at cooking dinner a couple of nights next week, so stay tuned for what is sure to be some interesting failed attempts there. I also just picked up some yarn for a new baby blanket project that I’m super excited about (I know, nerd alert) so I’ll get some pictures posted soon. AND my boss actually told me about a new relationship series being presented by a local church, Hope City, called Mixtape: Love, Sex & Marriage that’s so good, even Blake is listening to it with me! Stay tuned because, staycation, here I come!

About Callie Girl

Hi there,  my name is Callie and welcome to my blog! I am just a 30-year-old wife, dog mom, dance instructor, child of God and overall nerd who has decided to start her own blog. I've never consistently blogged before, unless my LiveJournal account in 2004 counts... For the most part, I'm simply looking for a way to vent some of my daily thoughts and experiences as I make my way through this experience of life!
This entry was posted in That's Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

